About the Waikato District

The Waikato District is situated in the Waikato region in the North Island’s heart and is central to ski fields, beaches and neighbouring cities. This central location allows a range of lifestyles and makes the Waikato District a great place to live, work and play.

The Waikato District’s picturesque identity allows for great outdoor activities to be enjoyed by all. The Maori world view in relation to protecting our environment is an integral part of what makes the Waikato District so unique, such that long-term, environmental sustainability has been placed at the forefront of community projects and council services.

The main towns are Raglan, Huntly, Ngaruawahia, Tuakau and Te Kauwhata; and smaller settlements include Gordonton, Matangi, Tamahere, Meremere, Port Waikato and Pokeno. The towns are well serviced, providing all the necessary amenities. The district is situated in the heart of the economic powerhouse of the nation, the ‘Golden Triangle’ which lies between Auckland, Waikato and Bay of Plenty regions. The makes it a valuable prospective for starting a new business or lifestyle.

With a population of over 496,700 reported in 2020, people from all walks of life, from different backgrounds, ethnicities and cultures make the Waikato District a diversely unique and welcoming community.

The Waikato District is also very affordable. It is an ideal location for people wanting to move out of the expensive big cities to start a new life prioritising their lifestyle.