Political parties

There are five main political parties of New Zealand. These are:


The New Zealand Labour Party, or simply Labour, is a centre-left political party in New Zealand. The party’s platform programme describes its founding principle as democratic socialism, while observers describe Labour as social-democratic and pragmatic in practice.


The New Zealand National Party, shortened to National or the Nats, is a centre-right political party in New Zealand. It is one of two major parties that largely dominate contemporary New Zealand politics, alongside its traditional rival, the Labour Party.


ACT New Zealand, usually known as ACT, is a classical liberal, libertarian political party in New Zealand


Green Party of Aotearoa
The Green Party of Aotearoa New Zealand is a green, left-wing political party in New Zealand. Like many green parties around the world it has four organisational pillars: ecology, social responsibility, grassroots democracy, and nonviolence.


Maori Party
The Maori Party is an indigenous rights-based centre-left political party.

Related Content