Other trade agreements

New Zealand is a strong proponent for free trade, and has entered into a number of trade agreements with its trading partners.

New Zealand has bilateral agreements with Australia, China, Hong Kong, Malaysia, Singapore, South Korea, Taiwan and Thailand.

New Zealand recently upgraded its free trade agreement with China, New Zealand’s largest trading partner. New Zealand also is a party to the following multilateral agreements:

(a) AANZFTA with Australia, Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, The Philippines, Singapore Thailand and Vietnam;

(b) TPSEP with Brunei, Chile and Singapore; and

(c) CPTTP, with Australia, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico Peru, Singapore and Vietnam. New Zealand is also negotiating, among others, free trade agreements with the United Kingdom and the European Union.

(d) RCEP, with Japan, China, South Korea, the 10 members of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN), Australia and New Zealand, creating a free trade zone, which covers nearly a third of the world’s trade and economic output.

Related Content