School Holidays 2021-2022

State and state-integrated schools and kura The New Zealand school year is usually divided into 4 terms. There is usually a 2-week break between each of the first 3 terms and a summer holiday at the end of Term 4 of about 6 weeks
Early learning services (including kindergartens and playcentres) Generally follow the same term and holiday dates as state schools
Full time daycare centres Are usually open through the school holidays but close for a time over Christmas
Private schools Have greater legislative freedom than state and integrated schools and kura and are able to vary their opening hours and school year
2021 school terms and holidays
Term 1
Number of weeks Between 10-11
Term start and end dates Starts between Monday 1 February (at the earliest); and Tuesday 9 February (at the latest), and
ends Friday 16 April
Public holidays Waitangi Day (observed) – Monday 8 February, and Easter: Good Friday – 2 April, Easter Monday – 5 April, Easter Tuesday – 6 April (a school holiday)
School holidays Saturday 17 April to Sunday 2 May
(includes ANZAC Day – 25 April)
Term 2
Number of weeks 10
Term start and end dates Monday 3 May to Friday 9 July
Public holidays Queen’s Birthday – Monday 7 June
School holidays Saturday 10 July to Sunday 25 July
Term 3
Number of weeks 10
Term start and end dates Monday 26 July to Friday 1 October
Public holidays None
School holidays Saturday 2 October to Sunday 17 October
Term 4
Number of weeks Up to 10
Term start and end dates Starts Monday 18 October, and
ends, for all schools, no later than Monday 20 December
Public holidays Labour Day – Monday 25 October, Christmas Day – Saturday 25 December, Boxing Day – Sunday 26 December, and New Year’s Day – Saturday 1 January 2022
School holidays 5 or 6 weeks (from school’s closing date until opening date of school the following year)
2022 school terms and holidays
Term 1
Number of weeks Between 10-11
Term start and end dates Starts between Monday 31 January (at the earliest); and Tuesday 8 February (at the latest), and ends Thursday 14 April
Public holidays Waitangi Day (observed) – Monday 7 February, and Easter: Good Friday – 15 April
School holidays Saturday 16 April to Sunday 1 May
(includes Easter Monday – 18 April, Easter Tuesday – 19 April (a school holiday), and ANZAC Day – Monday 25 April)
Term 2
Number of weeks 10
Term start and end dates Monday 2 May to Friday 8 July
Public holidays Queen’s Birthday – Monday 6 June
School holidays Saturday 9 July to Sunday 24 July
Term 3
Number of weeks 10
Term start and end dates Monday 25 July to Friday 30 September
Public holidays None
School holidays Saturday 1 October to Sunday 16 October
Term 4
Number of weeks Up to 10
Term start and end dates Starts Monday 17 October, and
ends no later than Tuesday 20 December
Public holidays Labour Day – Monday 24 October, Christmas Day – Sunday 25 December, Boxing Day – Monday 26 December, and New Year’s Day – Sunday 1 January 2023

Related Content