School Holidays 2022-2023

State and state-integrated schools and kura The New Zealand school year is usually divided into 4 terms. There is usually a 2-week break between each of the first 3 terms and a summer holiday at the end of Term 4 of about 6 weeks
Early learning services (including kindergartens and playcentres) Generally follow the same term and holiday dates as state schools
Full time daycare centres Are usually open through the school holidays but close for a time over Christmas
Private schools Have greater legislative freedom than state and integrated schools and kura and are able to vary their opening hours and school year
2022 school terms and holidays
Term 1
Number of weeks Between 10-11
Term start and end dates Starts between Monday 31 January (at the earliest); and Tuesday 8 February (at the latest), and ends Thursday 14 April
Public holidays Waitangi Day (observed) – Monday 7 February, and Easter: Good Friday – 15 April
School holidays Saturday 16 April to Sunday 1 May (includes Easter Monday – 18 April, Easter Tuesday – 19 April (a school holiday), and Anzac Day – Monday 25 April)
Term 2
Number of weeks 10
Term start and end dates Monday 2 May to Friday 8 July
Public holidays Queen’s Birthday – Monday 6 June, Matariki – Friday 24 June
School holidays Saturday 9 July to Sunday 24 Jul
Term 3
Number of weeks 10
Term start and end dates Monday 25 July to Friday 30 September
Public holidays None
School holidays Saturday 1 October to Sunday 16 October
Term 4
Number of weeks Up to 10
Term start and end dates Starts Monday 17 October, and ends no later than Tuesday 20 December
Public holidays Labour Day – Monday 24 October, Christmas Day – Sunday 25 December, Boxing Day – Monday 26 December, and New Year’s Day – Sunday 1 January 2023
School holidays
2023 school terms and holidays
Term 1
Number of weeks 10
Term start and end dates Starts between Monday 30 January (at the earliest); and Tuesday 7 February (at the latest), and ends Thursday 6 April
Public holidays Waitangi Day Monday 6 February, and Easter: Good Friday, Easter Monday and Easter Tuesday
School holidays Friday 7 April to Sunday 23 April
(includes Good Friday – 7 April, Easter Monday – 10 April and Easter Tuesday – 11 April (a school holiday))
Term 2
Number of weeks 10
Term start and end dates Monday 24 April to Friday 30 June
Public holidays Anzac Day – Tuesday 25 April and Queen’s Birthday – Monday 5 June
School holidays Saturday 1 July to Sunday 16 July (includes Matariki 14 July)
Term 3
Number of weeks 10
Term start and end dates Monday 17 July to Friday 22 September
Public holidays None
School holidays Saturday 23 September to Sunday 8 October
Term 4
Number of weeks Up to 10
Term start and end dates Starts Monday 9 October, and ends no later than Wednesday 20 December
Public holidays Labour Day – Monday 23 October, Christmas Day – Monday 25 December, Boxing Day – Tuesday 26 December and New Year’s Day – Monday 1 January 2024
School holidays 5-6 weeks (from school’s closing day until the opening date the following year)

Related Content